When a contact unsubscribes, they will be added to your suppression list.
A contact can be removed from your suppression list by resubscribing. We detail the two ways this can happen below.
An unsubscribed contact can resubscribe themselves by using your signup form (to see how to create a sign up form, visit Resubscribing a contact via sign up form after they have unsubscribe). Unlike a brand new contact, they will receive a confirmation email. A contact will not be resubscribed until they they confirm their action by clicking the link in the confirmation email.
The process in full:
Note: If you have created your own signup form using our API, you will need to be sure it uses the ResubscribeContact method where appropriate.
If you do not have a sign-up form, or if a contact requests you resubscribe them on their behalf, you can do so by using the resubscribe tool. Every contact you resubscribe will receive a confirmation email.
Important: As contacts receive a confirmation email as part of the process, only attempt to resubscribe contacts who have specifically requested it.
If you have a contact who has requested to be resubscribed:
A contact will not be resubscribed until they they confirm their action by clicking the link in the confirmation email.
The confirmation email used when resubscribing contacts has fixed wording, designed in such a way as to avoid ambiguity.
However, you can add your logo to the email by going to Contacts > Advanced features > Resubscribe settings.
A contact may be unable to resubscribe if: